For security and privacy reasons, there are 4 types of users in Paymo.

1. Admin - has access to and can control all the company-wide data, such as:

Financial information: accounting; project and task billing rates, hourly budgets, and costs; unbilled AR
Client data
Company settings
Time entries
Time reports
Bookings (Team Scheduling)
Leave Days

2. Project manager - by default, they can:

Manage the entire project they've been assigned to
Add, manage, and view time entries for the project team
Add, manage, and view time reports for the project team
Add, manage, and view bookings for the project team
View leave days for the project team

NOTE: They cannot add projects, nor see the project billing rates, hourly budgets, and costs unless given these extra priviliges

NOTE: If you're a project manager and someone from your project team is assigned to another project to which you're not assigned to, you can still view their availability (without the bookings) in the Team Scheduling module.

3. Regular user - is limited to the tasks they've been assigned to. That's why they can only:

Add tasks for themselves
Add and view discussions at a project level (under Discussions
Add and view files at a project level (under Files
Add, manage, and view time entries for themselves
Add, manage, and view time reports for themselves
View (but not add, nor manage) bookings for themselves
View their own leave days

NOTE: They cannot add projects, nor manage invoices, estimates, or expenses unless given these extra privileges



4. Guests - external users who can be invited for free into Paymo. They can:

View projects/tasks/time reports/invoices/estimates shared with them
View upcoming milestones
Create new Discussions and comment inside them
Add tasks (if given access)

Guest user priviliges

WHAT TO READ NEXT

How do I modify user privileges?
How do I set up user hourly rates?
How does the user leave planner work?
How do I add or invite guest users?
How can I modify guest priviliges?
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!